TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - StopTech Brake Kit for Z32 (Pics fixed?)
People Seeking Info

Subject StopTech Brake Kit for Z32 (Pics fixed?)

Posted by 90Turbo(CA) on August 29, 2002 at 8:47 PM
  This message has been viewed 2136 times.

Message OK people, I don’t post very often so bear with me.

It was my 1990 twin turbo used for the StopTech brake design and test.
I was introduced to them by SeedyRom (Best of luck with your project Ryan!) and approached this “opportunity” with my usual skepticism. (I’m an engineer and work in the automotive industry.) I was immediately impressed with three things: 1. The obvious quality of their product. (They make almost everything in the kit themselves including the SS lines. They are DOT registered for the manufacture and testing of the lines.) 2. Their intimate knowledge of automotive braking systems. And, 3.That they test and design for each application.
I have wanted to do a much needed brake upgrade for some time now, so I agreed to work with StopTech to develop a kit for the Z32.

The key with StopTech, is to properly size the front caliper’s pistons to match the dynamics of the vehicle’s handling, suspension and ABS systems. A kit with too much front brake will prematurely engage the ABS before the rear brakes are fully contributing to the braking effort. This can result in increased stopping distances from stock. This can also reduce vehicle stability in both straight-line, and more importantly, corner braking. Another benefit is that the braking effort is reduced and pedal feel is improved over stock. It is not “grabby” or over-boosted, that is the point with StopTech.

The test was held last Friday at California Speedway on a ½ mile parking lot.

My car:
Stage 3
Stillen cross drilled rotorsF&R
Metal Matrix pads F&R
Good ridge SS lines F&R
Bridgestone S03’s; 255/40-17 on 17x9F, 285/30-18 on 18x9.5R
Stock springs
Stock shocks
Stillen Swaybars F/R
Greg Dupree sub frame spacers