TwinTurbo.NET: Nissan 300ZX forum - Thanks for your support...
People Seeking Info

Subject Thanks for your support...

Posted by S2z on April 09, 2011 at 6:28 PM
  This message has been viewed 752 times.

Message I have over 1000 hours building my Z getting it ready for track days, spending the first 4 months of unemployment building my ride thinking any day I would be gainfully employed soon. I modified every portion of the body kit, and fixed all of the "sins" the body shop did during the repaint and kit installation.
As an Aerospace Engineer, I sat down and completed the calculations (including loads and stress analysis'), designed and built the Aero package installed on my Z.
Admidily, the end results are radically different than anything available on the market.
I used a Systems Integration approach towards designing and building the Aero package installed on my ride. There are additional "aerodynamic bits" that are to be installed at the track (i.e. sacrificial seals and strips for the front wing, side skirts and rear diffuser).
To accomodate conditions on the road (cruise nights etc.), the side skirts are hinged to deflect up and out of the way when bumps or dips in the road are encountered, along with LED lights installed in the trailing edge of the spoiler extension /rear wing.

The rear wing is a spiriod design, which is used to create counter-acting vortices, and to separate the high and low pressure airflows coming off of the rear and sides of the vehicle. Careful studying of existing aircraft spiroid designs, along with a detailed aerodynamic analysis, resulted in the design of my rear "wing" and rear diffuser.